A cautionary tale

I ran into Red Sox reliever Andrew Miller at the Boston Baseball Writers Association of America banquet last night and I warned him in the past I looked just like him.

The ultimate Before/After picture


The BBWAA handed out a number of awards:

Dustin Pedroia was named the Red Sox MVP, Will Middlebrooks was Rookie of the Year, and Clay Buchholz was Pitcher of the Year. Jarrod Saltalamacchia received the Tim Wakefield Award for community service.

Andrew Miller was the Relief Pitcher of the Year and Jackie Bradley won the Greg Montalbano Minor League Player of the Year Award. Daniel Nava won the Lou Gorman Award for perseverance and Pedro Ciriaco the Unsung Hero Award.

Mike Aviles won the Jackie Jensen Award for spirit. Cody Ross was the Media Good Guy and Terry Francona won the Judge Emil Fuchs Award for long and meritorious service.

R.A Dickey won the Tony Conigliaro Award. Worcester native Tim Collins of the Royals won the Ben Mondor New England player of the year.

Nationals GM Mike Rizzo was the MLB executive of the year. Manager of the year award went to Buck Showalter of the Orioles.

Globe columnist Dan Shaughnessy won the Dave O’Hara Award. Former Globe columnist Bob Ryan and retired Lowell Sun writer Chaz Scoggins also were honored.