The Roberto Clemente Award Report

Today, Sept. 17, is the 12th Annual Roberto Clemente Day.

Each year, the Roberto Clemente Award recognizes a player who best represents the game of baseball through positive contributions on and off the field, including sportsmanship and community involvement.

Learn about each of the nominees and vote for your choice for the national Roberto Clemente Award Voting ends on Sunday, October 6th and the winner of the fan vote will receive one vote among those cast by the selection panel which includes Baseball Commissioner Allan H. (Bud) Selig; MLB Goodwill Ambassador and wife of Roberto Clemente, Vera Clemente; Hall of Fame Broadcaster and the “Spanish Voice of the Los Angeles Dodgers” Jaime Jarrin; MLB Network analysts and former Roberto Clemente Award winners Al Leiter and Harold Reynolds; Hall of Famer and TBS analyst Dennis Eckersley; TBS analyst Buck Martinez; Hall of Famer, ESPN analyst and former Roberto Clemente Award winner Barry Larkin; ESPN analyst and former Roberto Clemente Award winner Rick Sutcliffe; senior correspondent Hal Bodley; and others.

The 30 Club nominees of the 2013 Roberto Clemente Award

(*=MLB All-Star; ^=nominated while member of former Club):

Arizona Diamondbacks – Aaron Hill*
Atlanta Braves – Tim Hudson*
Baltimore Orioles – Adam Jones*
Boston Red Sox – Craig Breslow
Chicago Cubs – Anthony Rizzo
Chicago White Sox – Hector Santiago
Cincinnati Reds – Bronson Arroyo*
Cleveland Indians – Justin Masterson*
Colorado Rockies – Todd Helton*
Detroit Tigers – Miguel Cabrera*
Houston Astros – Jose Altuve*
Kansas City Royals – Billy Butler*
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim – Jered Weaver*
Los Angeles Dodgers – Adrian Gonzalez*
Miami Marlins – Logan Morrison
Milwaukee Brewers – Jonathan Lucroy
Minnesota Twins – Justin Morneau*^
New York Mets – David Wright*
New York Yankees – David Robertson*
Oakland Athletics – Sean Doolittle
Philadelphia Phillies – Chase Utley*
Pittsburgh Pirates – Andrew McCutchen*
St. Louis Cardinals – Carlos Beltran*
San Diego Padres – Mark Kotsay
San Francisco Giants – Barry Zito*
Seattle Mariners – Raul Ibanez*
Tampa Bay Rays – David Price*
Texas Rangers – Ian Kinsler*
Toronto Blue Jays – J.P. Arencibia
Washington Nationals – Ryan Zimmerman*