Why the Twins Should Be Happy Report

The Minnesota Twins don’t have a lot to be happy about in the present but their future looks brighter as 19-year-old Byron Buxton has been named Minor League Player of the Year by Baseball America.

Taken with the second pick in the 2012 draft, Buxton batted a combined .334 at two levels of Class A ball, Cedar Rapids and Fort Myers, stole 55 bases, had 18 triples and 12 homers.

As you peruse the list of prior winners of this award, you can see the selectors have an outstanding record of predicting MLB success.

Minor league player of the year winners

1981 Mike Marshall, 1b, Albuquerque (Dodgers)

1982 Ron Kittle, of, Edmonton (White Sox)

1983 Dwight Gooden, rhp, Lynchburg (Mets)

1984 Mike Bielecki, rhp, Hawaii (Pirates)

1985 Jose Canseco, of, Huntsville/Tacoma (Athletics)

1986 Gregg Jefferies, ss, Columbia/Lynchburg/Jackson (Mets)

1987 Gregg Jefferies, ss, Jackson/Tidewater (Mets)

1988 Tom Gordon, rhp, Appleton/Memphis/Omaha (Royals)

1989 Sandy Alomar Jr., c, Las Vegas (Padres)

1990 Frank Thomas, 1b, Birmingham (White Sox)

1991 Derek Bell, of, Syracuse (Blue Jays)

1992 Tim Salmon, of, Edmonton (Angels)

1993 Manny Ramirez, of, Canton/Charlotte (Indians)

1994 Derek Jeter, ss, Tampa/Albany/Columbus (Yankees)

1995 Andruw Jones, of, Macon (Braves)

1996 Andruw Jones, of, Durham/Greenville/Richmond (Braves)

1997 Paul Konerko, 1b, Albuquerque (Dodgers)

1998 Eric Chavez, 3b, Huntsville/Edmonton (Athletics)

1999 Rick Ankiel, lhp, Arkansas/Memphis (Cardinals)

2000 Jon Rauch, rhp, Winston-Salem/Birmingham (White Sox)

2001 Josh Beckett, rhp, Brevard County/Portland (Marlins)

2002 Rocco Baldelli, of, Bakersfield/Orlando/Durham (Devil Rays)

2003 Joe Mauer, c, Fort Myers/New Britain (Twins)

2004 Jeff Francis, lhp, Tulsa/Colorado Springs (Rockies)

2005 Delmon Young, of, Montgomery/Durham (Devil Rays)

2006 Alex Gordon, 3b, Wichita (Royals)

2007 Jay Bruce, of, Sarasota/Chattanooga/Louisville (Reds)

2008 Matt Wieters, c, Frederick/Bowie (Orioles)

2009 Jason Heyward, of, Myrtle Beach/Mississippi/Gwinnett (Braves)

2010 Jeremy Hellickson, rhp, Durham/Charlotte (Rays)

2011 Mike Trout, of, Arkansas (Angels)

2012 Wil Myers, of, Northwest Arkansas/Omaha (Royals)