The Finalists for the 2014 Ford C. Frick Award

The 10 finalists have been named for the 2014 Frick Award: Joe Castiglione, Jacques Doucet, Ken Harrelson, Bill King, Duane Kuiper, Eric Nadel, Eduardo Ortega, Mike Shannon, Dewayne Staats and Pete van Wieren.

The winner of the 2014 Frick Award will be announced on December 11 at the Baseball Winter Meetings and will be honored during the July 26 Awards Presentation as part of Hall of Fame Weekend 2014 in Cooperstown.

All broadcasters on the ballot, with the exception of King and van Wieren, are active. All the finalists except for King are living.

Final voting for the 2014 Frick Award will be conducted by a 20-member electorate, comprised of the 16 living Frick Award recipients and five broadcast historians/columnists, including past Frick honorees Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Jaime Jarrin, Milo Hamilton, Tony Kubek, Tim McCarver, Denny Matthews, Jon Miller, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker, Dave Van Horne and Bob Wolff, and historians/columnists Bob Costas (NBC), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian).

To be considered, an active or retired broadcaster must have a minimum of 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a ball club, network, or a combination of the two. More than 160 broadcasters were eligible for consideration for the award based on these qualifications for 2014.

The 10 finalists for the 2014 Frick Award:
– Castiglione has spent 33 years calling big league games, the last 30 as the Red Sox’s lead radio voice;
– Doucet spent 34 years broadcasting for the Expos as the play-by-play radio voice on their French network (1969-2004), and he returned to the booth in 2012 for select games as the Blue Jays’ French-speaking TV voice;
– Harrelson has brought a passionate voice to the air for the Red Sox, Yankees and White Sox, including 27 years in Chicago;
– King worked for 25 seasons (1981-2005) as the A’s lead play-by-play voice on radio;
– Kuiper has called games for 28 seasons, all but one with the Giants after spending 1993 with the expansion Rockies;
– Nadel has spent the last 35 seasons with the Rangers – the longest tenure of any announcer in franchise history – including the last 21 as the club’s lead play-by-play voice;
– Ortega has handled Spanish-language MLB broadcasts for 27 years, including the last 21 as the voice of the Padres on radio and TV;
– Shannon has called Cardinals games for 42 years following a nine-year playing career with the Redbirds;
– Staats has called big league games for 36 years, including the last 16 as the voice of the Rays.
– Van Wieren called Braves games on television and radio from 1976-2008.

Additional biographical information on the 10 finalists can be found at Voters are asked to base their selections on the following criteria: longevity; continuity with a club; honors, including national assignments such as the World Series and All-Star Games; and popularity with fans.

The annual award is named in memory of Hall of Famer Ford C. Frick, renowned sportswriter, radio broadcaster, National League president and Baseball commissioner.

With all due respect to Mr. Frick, the award should be re-named the Vince Scully Award and the sooner, the better.

1978 – Mel Allen
1979 – Bob Elson
1980 – Russ Hodges
1981 – Ernie Harwell
1982 – Vin Scully
1983 – Jack Brickhouse
1984 – Curt Gowdy
1985 – Buck Canel
1986 – Bob Prince
1987 – Jack Buck
1988  – Lindsey Nelson
1989 – Harry Caray
1990 – By Saam
1991 – Joe Garagiola
1992 – Milo Hamilton
1993 – Chuck Thompson
1994 – Bob Murphy
1995 – Bob Wolff
1996 – Herb Carneal
1997 – Jimmy Dudley
1998 – Jaime Jarrin
1999 – Arch McDonald
2000 – Marty Brennaman
2001 – Felo Ramirez
2002 – Harry Kalas
2003 – Bob Uecker, Red Barber
2004 – Lon Simmons
2005 – Jerry Coleman
2006 – Gene Elston
2007 – Denny Matthews
2008 – Dave Niehaus
2009 – Tony Kubek
2010 – Jon Miller
2011 – Dave Van Horne
2012 – Tim McCarver
2013 – Tom Cheek