The Hutch Award Report

Ten players have been nominated for the 49th annual Hutch Award, to be given Jan. 30 at Safeco Field in Seattle. The award, launched a year after player and manager Fred Hutchinson died of cancer in 1964 by three of his friends, is presented annually at the Hutch Award Luncheon which raises funds for cancer research at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center.

Seattle surgeon William Hutchinson, Fred’s brother, founded the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, an independent, nonprofit center that works to improve the prevention, detection and treatment of cancer and related diseases.

The Hutch Award is given to a major leaguer who demonstrates the honor, courage and dedication that Fred Hutchinson exemplified. The recipient is often someone who has overcome challenges in his personal or professional life.

This year’s nominees are:

Jeremy Affeldt, San Francisco Giants
Craig Breslow, Boston Red Sox
Neal Cotts, Texas Rangers
John Danks, Chicago White Sox
Sean Doolittle, Oakland Athletics
Alex Gordon, Kansas City Royals
Raul Ibanez, Seattle Mariners
Scott Kazmir, Cleveland Indians
Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates
Jason Motte, St. Louis Cardinals

Past Hutch Award Recipients

1965 Mickey Mantle, Yankees
1966 Sandy Koufax, Dodgers
1967 Carl Yastrzemski, Red Sox
1968 Pete Rose, Reds
1969 Al Kaline, Tigers
1970 Tony Conigliaro, Red Sox
1971 Joe Torre, Cardinals
1972 Bobby Tolan, Reds
1973 John Hiller, Tigers
1974 Danny Thompson, Twins
1975 Gary Nolan, Reds
1976 Tommy John, Dodgers
1977 Willie McCovey, Giants
1978 Willie Stargell, Pirates
1979 Lou Brock, Cardinals
1980 George Brett, Royals
1981 Johnny Bench, Reds
1982 Andre Thornton, Indians
1983 Ray Knight, Astros
1984 Don Robinson, Pirates
1985 Rick Reuschel, Cubs
1986 Dennis Leonard, Royals
1987 Paul Molitor, Brewers
1988 Ron Oester, Reds
1989 Dave Dravecky, Giants
1990 Sid Bream, Pirates
1991 Bill Wegman, Brewers
1992 Carney Lansford, Athletics
1993 John Olerud, Blue Jays
1994 Andre Dawson, Red Sox
1995 Jim Abbott, Angels
1996 Omar Vizquel, Indians
1997 Eric Davis, Orioles
1998 David Cone, Yankees
1999 Sean Casey, Reds
2000 Jason Giambi, Athletics
2001 Curt Schilling, Diamondbacks
2002 Tim Salmon, Angels
2003 Jamie Moyer, Mariners
2004 Trevor Hoffman, Padres
2005 Craig Biggio, Astros
2006 Mark Loretta, Astros
2007 Mike Sweeney, Royals
2008 Jon Lester, Red Sox – a cancer survivor who was treated by a doctor from the Hutch
2009 Mark Teahen, White Sox
2010 Tim Hudson, Braves
2011 Billy Butler, Royals
2012 Barry Zito, Giants

For more information visit