2011 Ford C. Frick Award Ballot

2011 Ford C. Frick Award Ballot Finalized

Ten of baseball’s most beloved and honored broadcasters were named today as the finalists for the 2011 Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually for excellence in baseball broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

Among the 10 finalists for the 2011 Frick Award are number of qualified broadcasters and Tim McCarver:

1.  Eric Nadel has spent the last 32 seasons with the Rangers – the longest tenure of any announcer in franchise history – including the last 16 as the club’s lead play-by-play voice. Eric is a good friend of Billy-Ball.com and an outstanding announcer, who brings games to life with knowledge and energy;

2.   Rene Cardenas helped create the first Spanish-language MLB broadcast in 1958 with the Dodgers, working a total of 38 years for the Dodgers, Astros and Rangers;

3.   Tom Cheek broadcast 31 major league seasons covering the Montreal Expos (1974-’76) and Toronto Blue Jays (1977-2004), the last 28 seasons as the Jays’ radio play-by-play man with 4,603 straight games broadcast, before his death during the 2005 season;

4.   Dizzy Dean broadcast 24 years in St. Louis and nationally on CBS’ Game of the Week from 1955-65 following a Hall of Fame pitching career;

5.   Jacques Doucet spent his entire 34 year career broadcasting for the Expos as the play-by-play radio voice on their French network (1969-2004);

6.   Bill King worked for 25 seasons (1981-2005) as the A’s lead play-by-play voice on radio;

7.   Ned Martin worked as the Red Sox’s radio and television voice from 1961-92, covering the 1975 World Series for NBC-TV;

8.   Tim McCarver has broadcast for 30 seasons, the last 15 for Fox-TV on their national broadcast – extending a string of 21 seasons working the postseason;

9.  Graham McNamee was a national pioneer in sports broadcasting, calling games for 13 seasons for Westinghouse and NBC, also calling 12 World Series;

10.               Dave Van Horne has spent 43 years in broadcasting for the Montreal Expos (1968-2000) and Florida Marlins (2001-present), the last 10 in Florida, following 33 seasons in Montreal as the English voice.

The winner of the 2011 Frick Award will be announced on December 7 at the Baseball Winter Meetings in Orlando, Fla., and honored during Hall of Fame Weekend, July 22-25, 2011, in Cooperstown.

The 10 finalists for the 2011 Frick Award include the three fan selections produced from online balloting at the Hall of Fame’s Facebook site www.facebook.com/baseballhall throughout September. A total of 21,603 votes were cast. For the second consecutive year, Cheek paced all broadcasters in fan voting with 11,661 votes. King was second in the fan balloting with 4,758 votes and Doucet followed with 2,714 votes. McCarver, Nadel and Van Horne are the only active broadcasters on the ballot. Cardenas and Doucet are the only other living candidates.

Final voting for the 2011 Frick Award will be conducted by a 20-member electorate, comprised of the 15 living Frick Award recipients and five broadcast historians/columnists, including past Frick honorees Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Jaime Jarrin, Milo Hamilton, Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, 2010 Frick Award winner Jon Miller, Dave Niehaus, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker and Bob Wolff, and historians/columnists Bob Costas (NBC), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Stan Isaacs (formerly of NY Newsday), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian).

Additional biographical information on the 10 finalists can be found at www.baseballhall.org. Voters are asked to base their selections on the following criteria: longevity; continuity with a club; honors, including national assignments such as the World Series and All-Star Games; and popularity with fans.

To be considered, an active or retired broadcaster must have a minimum of 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a ball club, network, or a combination of the two. In 2010, more than 200 broadcasters were eligible for consideration for the award, with bios of each candidate appearing at the Hall of Fame’s Web site.

The annual award is named in memory of Hall of Famer Ford C. Frick, renowned sportswriter, radio broadcaster, National League president and Baseball commissioner.

Past recipients of the Ford C. Frick Award:


1978 Mel Allen 1989 Harry Caray 2001 Felo Ramirez
Red Barber 1990 By Saam 2002 Harry Kalas
1979 Bob Elson 1991 Joe Garagiola 2003 Bob Uecker
1980 Russ Hodges 1992 Milo Hamilton 2004 Lon Simmons
1981 Ernie Harwell 1993 Chuck Thompson 2005 Jerry Coleman
1982 Vin Scully 1994 Bob Murphy 2006 Gene Elston
1983 Jack Brickhouse 1995 Bob Wolff 2007 Denny Matthews
1984 Curt Gowdy 1996 Herb Carneal 2008 Dave Niehaus
1985 Buck Canel 1997 Jimmy Dudley 2009 Tony Kubek
1986 Bob Prince 1998 Jaime Jarrin 2010 Jon Miller
1987 Jack Buck 1999 Arch McDonald
1988 Lindsey Nelson 2000 Marty Brennaman