Let us get this party started

Postseason Broadcast Schedule

Click Here.

My Picks

Two reasons why the Phillies could lose the NLDS

  1. The best team does not always win.
  2. I pick the Phils in three.

Two reasons why the Yankees could lose the ALDS

  1. In each of three previous seasons as the wild-card team, 1995, 1997 and 2007, the Yankees have always lost in the first round.
  2. I pick the Yankees in four.

Two reasons why the Giants could lose the NLDS

  1. The only playoff team that scored fewer than the Braves’ 738 runs were the Giants with 697.
  2. I’m picking the Giants in four.

Two reasons why the Rays could lose the ALDS

  1. Rays first basemen and center fielders had the lowest batting average at their position in the majors, their catchers ranked 26 and second basemen 25th. Every defensive position other than Evan Longoria at third and Carl Crawford in left ranked in the bottom third of the 30 teams.
  2. I pick the Rays in five.

Why Game One Matters

Think of this as a seven-game series with the first two games already played and split. In what I think will be the last five-game postseason set of series, game one is critical in the LDS. In fact, the winner of Game 1 is 12-0 over the past three years and 21-3 since 2004.

Division Series Home Run Leaders

Click Here

Division Series Hit Leaders

Click here

My Postseason Power Rankings

  1. Philadelphia Phillies – My champion pick
  2. New York Yankees – AL WS pick
  3. Tampa Bay Rays
  4. San Francisco Giants – My sleeper
  5. Minnesota Twins
  6. Texas Rangers
  7. Cincinnati Reds
  8. Atlanta Braves

NLDS Blown Saves Dept.

Francisco Cordero has the most blown saves (eight), followed by Billy Wagner (seven), Brad Lidge (five) and Brian Wilson (five).

Most Games for Active Players without a Postseason Appearance

Click here

Good news if the Reds win Game 1

The Reds were 30-41 against teams with records .500 and above, and 61-30 against teams below .500.

Porous D

The Braves finished with 126 errors this season, tied for the third most in the majors behind only Washington and Pittsburgh (127).

No Bull

Giants’ relievers finished second in the majors with a 2.99 ERA. Only San Diego had a lower ERA (2.81). The Giants and Twins led the majors by allowing only 24 percent of inherited runners to score. The Braves were tied for 11th at 29 percent.

Rays relievers haven’t allowed a run over 32 2/3 innings in their past 11 games.

Braves closer Billy Wagner, who will retire after this season, has played in seven postseason series with the Astros, Mets and Red Sox has a 10.32 ERA in 13 appearances.

Darren Oliver – Click here

A Whiff of Success

With 231 strikeouts, Tim Lincecum became the first Giant to lead the National League three consecutive years since Christy Mathewson (1903-05), 12 more than runner-up Roy Halladay (219). Warren Spahn and Randy Johnson are the only other NL pitchers to accomplish the feat since World War II. Each had a four-year run leading the NL, Johnson from 1999-2002 and Spahn from 1949-52.

Big Mo

The Giants finished 20-10 to win the National League West.

Fear the Beard

The Giants bullpen had an 0.90 ERA after Sept. 1 while stranding 33 of 40 inherited runners. Closer Brian Wilson saved 48 games in 53 chances.

Tommy John Comeback Players of the Year

Tim Hudson and Francisco Liriano both underwent elbow ligament replacement surgery and both were named Comeback Players of the Year voted on by the 30 beat writers of MLB.com.

It would be nice to see this award not based on recovering from injury.

Warren Spahn Award

Tampa Bay Rays Game One starter David Price has won the Warren Spahn Award, recognizing the top left-handed pitcher in the major leagues.

Ford Frick Award

Click here.

My votes for the major awards


  1. Joey Votto, Cincinnati
  2. Carlos Gonzalez, Colorado
  3. Albert Pujols, St. Louis

NL Cy Young

  1. Roy Halladay, Philadelphia
  2. Adam Wainwright, St. Louis
  3. Josh Johnson, Florida

NL Rookie of the Year

1.     Buster Posey, San Francisco

2.     Jason Heyward, Atlanta

3.     Jaime Garcia, St. Louis

NL Manager of the Year

1.     Bud Black, San Diego

2.     Dusty Baker, Cincinnati

3.     Bruce Bochy, San Francisco


  1. Josh Hamilton, Texas
  2. Robinson Cano, New York
  3. Miguel Cabrera, Detroit

AL Cy Young

1.     Felix Hernandez, Seattle

2.     CC Sabathia, New York

3.     David Price, Tampa Bay

AL Rookie of the Year

1.     Neftali Feliz, Texas

2.     Austin Jackson, Detroit

3.     Wade Davis, Tampa Bay

AL Manager of the Year

1.     Ron Washington, Texas

2.     Ron Gardenhire, Minnesota

3.     Terry Francona, Boston

There is more data and info, than you will know what to do with, posted everyday, throughout the day, on Billy-Ball.com.