MLBPAA announces team winners of 13th annual Heart & Hustle Award

The Major League Baseball Players Alumni Association (MLBPAA) today announced the 30 preliminary winners of the 2017 Heart & Hustle Award. This award honors active players who demonstrate a passion for the game of baseball and best embody the values, spirit and traditions of the game.

The Heart and Hustle Award is the only award in Major League Baseball that is voted on by former players. One player from each Major League team is chosen by an alumni committee based on their passion, desire and work ethic demonstrated both on and off the field. The overall winner will be presented Nov. 14 at the 18th annual Legends for Youth Dinner in New York City.

The previous overall winners are David Eckstein (2005), Craig Biggio (2006, 2007), Grady Sizemore (2008), Albert Pujols (2009), Roy Halladay (2010), Torii Hunter (2011), Mike Trout (2012), Dustin Pedroia (2013), Josh Harrison (2014), Anthony Rizzo (2015) and Todd Frazier (2016).

The 30 individual team winners

American League

Baltimore Orioles: Adam Jones
Boston Red Sox: Rick Porcello
Chicago White Sox: Avisail Garcia
Cleveland Indians: José Ramirez
Detroit Tigers: Ian Kinsler
Houston Astros: Josh Reddick
Kansas City Royals: Eric Hosmer
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim: Andrelton Simmons
Minnesota Twins: Byron Buxton
New York Yankees: Brett Gardner
Oakland Athletics: Yonder Alonso
Seattle Mariners: Nelson Cruz
Tampa Bay Rays: Logan Morrison
Texas Rangers: Elvis Andrus
Toronto Blue Jays: Kevin Pillar

National League

Arizona Diamondbacks: Paul Goldschmidt
Atlanta Braves: Nick Markakis
Chicago Cubs: Kris Bryant
Cincinnati Reds: Adam Duvall
Colorado Rockies: Charlie Blackmon
Los Angeles Dodgers: Justin Turner
Miami Marlins: J.T. Realmuto
Milwaukee Brewers: Hernán Pérez
New York Mets: Jay Bruce
Philadelphia Phillies: Freddy Galvis
Pittsburgh Pirates: Adam Frazier
San Diego Padres: Clayton Richard
San Francisco Giants: Brandon Crawford
St. Louis Cardinals: Jedd Gyorko
Washington Nationals: Anthony Rendon